What Would Hal Do?

Those of you who have run a marathon in their lives, I commend you!  I am training for the NY Marathon in early November and I find that I’m asking myself during my long runs why people run this much?

Why do we put ourselves through the torturous training? Is it because it’s worth it? Of course I’m guessing the answer is yes, counting on it even. I have always enjoyed running to the fullest, but now it’s getting to be a chore. The last long run I went on was the longest I’ve ever run in one consecutive time and I have to say that stopping hurt worse than continuing. This scares me a little because I was only running 16 miles at that time, and I’ll have 10.2 more to go in the marathon!

What motivation do you use to keep yourself going? I find myself asking, what would Hal do?!

2 thoughts on “What Would Hal Do?

  1. Stephanie, I am keeping you in my thoughts as you train for this big event. What a great metaphor running and training is for the difficult things in life that have special meaning for us and for the people in our lives. In thinking about what motivates me, sometimes it’s as simple as ‘because I can’ when I know that there are so many people who can’t do the things I do because they are physically unable or simply don’t believe in their ability. Often I’m motivated by people who’ve done something that inspires me. And sometimes it’s as simple as ‘because I said I would’ and this motivates me to try to recall the reason I set out to do something in the first place because it, the original reason, often fades away as the reality of the hard work closes in. I’m really excited for you, Stephanie, and I know you will do great. xxoo

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

