Stretching. Before, After, At All?

Do you stretch before or after a run? Or, do you stretch at all?

Out of the 10 years I’ve been “running” running, I’ve only come to think about stretching in the most recent years.

This is probably because when I was younger, I thought I was invincible.  But as the years continue and my training gets more serious; I realize that I’m most certainly not. It’s obvious when googling for “When to stretch,” many people have had this thought and there is some research on it.  “The idea behind stretching is to lengthen the muscle fibers to increase their function and hopefully enhance performance, helping runners maintain a faster pace or run for a longer period of time (article here).”  Time Magazine says to skip the stretch before the run because it doesn’t prove to prevent injury on the run.

I know I definitely need to stretch better and if not before the run, after. It’s giving back to your body for allowing you to have a good workout and it can also be very relaxing. What’s your take on stretching?

4 thoughts on “Stretching. Before, After, At All?

  1. I think stretching is SO important. I do my best to always stretch. I mainly do my stretches AFTER a run or workout. I hear its better, since your muscles are warm. What is your preference?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

