Oh my gourd!

I get a lot of my meal ideas from watching the Food Network or food TV shows with Gordon Ramsay. So it’s no surprise that this one came from one of the meals Anne Burrell was cooking on television that inspired me to conquer spaghetti squash.  I’m familiar with cooking squash, especially in the fall and winter time, but I’ve never tried to do spaghetti from a squash. A number of people claim that it is so easy to do. “There’s a reason it’s called spaghetti squash,” they say. Could it really be that simple? Cook a squash in the oven for an hour and fork out the insides for a pasta look-alike?

Well, last night I did it. I got my spaghetti squash on.

I had already begun the spaghetti sauce, mixing one chopped onion, 4 cloves of garlic, a pinch of sugar, tomato sauce, fresh diced cherry tomatoes, oregano, rosemary, thyme, parsley, salt, and pepper. It was time to simmer that down and cut my squash in half for baking.

The inside of a spaghetti squash looks pretty similar to other squashes I’ve worked with, so I was curious to see how this turned out to be “pasta.” I had to wait about 50 minutes with the oven at 375.

About half way through the 50 minutes, I started on the brussels sprouts. I just love these little cabbages! I typically clean them by running them through water and taking off the outer leaves. Then I’ll cut them into quarters because I want them to cook faster. I put them in an oven sheet with olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and let them hang out with the squash for about 30 minutes.

So this isn’t that pretty, but I HAD to show it – look how neat this is! I may never make pasta again!

This stuff seriously looks like spaghetti, I’m still amazed. And, by the way, it tastes great too! I melted a little Smart Balance butter to put on top along with a pinch of salt and parmesean cheese.

At the last few minutes, I added shrimp to my spaghetti sauce and let those cook for about 6 minutes, (until pink). Then I scooped some of that wonderful sauce on top, garnished with a little basil and voila! 

Shrimp Spaghetti Squash with Brussels Sprouts. Delish!

One thought on “Oh my gourd!

  1. This is making me hungry and I will definitely revisit spaghetti squash – – it’s been a really long time since I made it – – and I love the addition of the brussels sprouts – – one of my favorite veggies! xxoo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

