Tortilla Soup Sunsets

How did I get so lucky today, I don’t know. But would you just look at this beautiful sunset. On return home from the office, I find my boyfriend has bought groceries for us and is getting ready to cook us a wonderful meal. It’s Mexican and Hell’s Kitchen night again, but this time it’s Chicken Tortilla Soup made by Neal Whitlow.

Neal grilled a whole chicken yesterday, and we definitely had leftovers! He did the beer can chicken thing, where you have a half full can of beer and put it inside the chicken while it cooks. It makes the chicken so moist and with the seasonings he used, it was so perfect. Now we get to enjoy the leftovers in a whole other meal! I don’t know what I like better actually, the original meal or the leftovers! They are both so satisfying!

 It’s the season finale of Hell’s Kitchen tonight. I’m a pretty loyal fan of the show ever since it was introduced to me a few years ago – but I have to say, this is not the best season and it may have gotten cut short since the finale is ending with 4 “chefs” remaining in the kitchen. If you follow the show.. I’m betting on Will as I feel like the rest of them are amateurs and I don’t know how they’ve made it this fat. Can’t wait to see if I’m right!

In the meantime, Neal’s cooking the soup! Gosh, it’s going to be so delicious, I can just tell by the smell of things. 

The guy at Whole Foods told Neal he had made “a good pairing of cheese and wine.” There is this cheddar cheese there that is just divine, we’ve tried it before and will probably be trying it again. It was the icing on the cake of this Tortilla Soup!

The wine is a first for us.  It has 91 points and was a best buy in “Wine and Spirits” magazine in 2011. From Patagonia, which is in southern Argentina, this wine has a character of red fruits and plum jam. Their website calls it fruity with fresh acidity and firm tanins. I’m no wine expert, but I’d say it’s definitely a medium bodied red wine with a slight fruity flavor that made an impression on me. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

