A Weekly Tradish

Tennis. Hell’s Kitchen. And today… tacos!

With the recent US Open games fresh in our minds,  Neal and I were off to the tennis courts near our house after work. I told Neal I’d beat him this time. Though that was not the case…

We walked to the Country Corner convenience store afterwards and got some Dos XX’s to get ready for a night of mexican and Monday night TV.

Right now there are only a few shows on television I actually like: Curb Your Enthusiasm and anything where Gordon Ramsay yells and throws things;(which is literally every show, but currently Hell’s Kitchen.) It’s definitely sometime we look forward to every Monday night after tennis. Tonight it was on at 8 due to the tennis final between Nadal and Djokovic, so we happily watched that while making dinner.

I made fish and shrimp tacos and maiz con jamón (corn with ham).

I defrosted Tilapia and shrimp because they were on hand and it was quick and easy. Tacos are one of the main dishes I use frozen protein with as I end up spicing them with flavorful taco seasonings, so they still end up tasting great! It’s a good thing too, because after the tennis workout, we were hungry.

My taco seasonings include:

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

A few days ago, Neal grilled corn and we had two extra grilled ears leftover. I cut the kernals off and put them in a casserole dish. I also had some left over ham from my eggs bennie post.  Combining those two forces, I added red onion, fresh cilantro, cheddar cheese and taco seasonings. Once I slid that into the oven, I began cooking my vegetables and then fish and shrimp a in a cast iron skillet over the stove. About 10 minutes later, we were ready to sit down and watch Hell’s Kitchen with our fish and shrimp tacos and maiz dish.

One thought on “A Weekly Tradish

  1. Now I know what to do with all the tilapia I bought the other day!! And I envy that you can use an iron skillet – – we have the flat top stove and can’t use cast iron. Thanks for another great meal idea!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

