Mama Mia, we don’t need no Pizzeria!

Last night I decided to make pizza from scratch!

Like the rest of America, I love pizza, but I believe it should be homemade. You can use fresh ingredients and being able to control exactly what goes into the dish is really important to me.

If you have time to make the pizza dough, it’s so worth it! I always thought bread making was one of the most difficult things to do in the kitchen, but a special someone showed me just how easy it actually is. If you’ve never made bread from scratch before, you really should give it a try.

I started after work on the pizza dough adding yeast and warm water together for 10 minutes. This allow the yeast to dissolve. (It should become frothy looking). I then combined bread flour and wheat flour (I enjoy adding wheat flour whenever possible).  I also added 1 teaspoon of sugar, 1 tablespoon olive oil and 2 teaspoons of salt. Then once the yeast is dissolved, I add that to the flour mixture and beat with a mixer until all the ingredients are mixed. The kneading time is my favorite part.

Kneading bread is a great way to relieve stress by the way. Sometimes you just knead it (insert goofy smile here)

Okay, so once you feel like you’ve been beating your boss (or whoever popped into your mind during this time), for a few minutes too long. You’ve finished this round!

Put a little bit of olive oil into a large to medium size bowl, take a paper towel and brush the entire bowl with the EVOO.  Then plop the dough right in and cover with that same paper towel. Then let it rise for an hour  in some place warm (I chose by the window).  Rinse and Repeat (just kidding, don’t rinse anything). But repeat the beat down and let it re-rise for another hour.

During this whole time I’m also making the sauce. My sauce included a can of stewed tomatoes, tomato paste, 1 cup of water, a bit of olive oil, 3 cloves of garlic and lots of spices. Garlic powder, oregano, basil, rosemary and thyme. If you can use fresh herbs, they would really liven up the sauce. Sprinkle with a little salt and pepper and let simmer for a few hours.

Once the dough was ready, I could top with my homemade sauce and, in my case, everything but the kitchen sink! I had bell peppers, tomatoes, mushrooms, olives, eggplant, zucchini, pepperoni, red onion, feta, fresh mozzarella and parmesan to top it all off.

And volia! Totally worth the wait, wouldn’t you say?

Neal picked out a Tempranillo Spanish Wine and it was thoroughly enjoyed with our homemade pizza! I’d buy it again too!

2 thoughts on “Mama Mia, we don’t need no Pizzeria!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

