Eggs Bennie

I think the most difficult thing about making brunch is the timing of it all.  If you’re me, you’ve got home fries cooking, sliced ham on the stove, hollandaise sauce to make, poached eggs to get just right, english muffins to pop in the toaster, fresh fruit to cut & mimosas to pour!  Oh and did I mention timing everything right? I’m exhausted already!

Until of course, I found this little handy contraption that made my yesterday morning stress free!

See Nordic Wave Egg Poacher: 

Which by the way, can be found at  Sur la Table.

Now see my Eggs Bennie:

Closer:

It’s funny how simplifying one thing can make such a difference.

My Eggs Bennie:

1 egg

1 slice black forest ham

1 tomato slice

English muffin

Hollandaise sauce

2 egg yolks

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 teaspoon Cayenne

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 lb stick of butter (melted)

Directions:

I whisk together all of the ingredients except for the butter in a small pot. Then I melt the butter and add it while still whisking and put it over a medium burner. Let the sauce thicken up, stir occasionally and voila! Just make sure you don’t let the sauce thicken up so much that it breaks up. This happens if you let the sauce sit too long on the burner.

Pour sauce over the respective other ingredients and start the weekend off right!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

